Skip To Content
Baylor at Independence is a Course

Baylor at Independence



Full course description

Baylor is the oldest continuously operating university in Texas whose roots are deeply intertwined with those of Texas. Chartered in 1845, when Texas was still its own republic, Baylor resulted from the bold vision of delegates of the Texas Baptist Education Society. Their decision to establish Baylor in Independence, Texas, set the course for two great universities that remain in operation today: Baylor University and the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor.


This course explores the founding and early history of Baylor - from its earliest beginnings in 1841 through its decision to relocate to Waco in 1886. As you make your way through, you will be introduced to the founders of Baylor: William M. Tryon, James Huckins, and, of course, Judge R. E. B. Baylor. This course will also investigate the early curriculum of the university, review the conflict between President Rufus Burleson and Horace Clark, and delve into the state of the campus during the Civil War. Finally, you will learn why Baylor relocated from Independence to Waco after 41 years.


After taking this course, you will have a deeper appreciation for the historic roots of both Baylor and Texas, understanding the courageous vision that created and continues to inspire Baylor University.

Sign up for this course today!